Home / Stories / Takeaway Wednesday: 3 Questions About Religious Orders

Takeaway Wednesday: 3 Questions About Religious Orders


Continuing our series Sacraments and Social Mission: Living the Gospel, Being Disciples, our blog today features the Sacrament of Holy Orders. 

Franciscan Mission Service defines itself through its dedication to St. Francis. While discernment to serve as a Franciscan missioner is different from discernment to religious life, our organization is inspired by the lives and faith of the long tradition of women and men Franciscan religious.

1. How much do you know about Franciscan religious life?

2. What do you know about the spiritual differences between religious orders?

Enjoy the two articles below by Roger O’Brien from VISION: Vocation Network (a resource of the National Religious Vocation Conference)

Learn about the four different spirituality types representing the following religious orders:

Thomistic prayer
Augustinian prayer
Franciscan prayer
Ignatian prayer

Take five minutes and find out through this online quiz what spirituality type, or what religious order’s charism, most appeals to you.

3. Will you join Franciscan Mission Service and pray that all women and men grow closer to God through discernment?

Most high, glorious God,
enlighten the darkness of my heart and give me, Lord,
a correct faith, a certain hope, a perfect charity, insight and wisdom,
so that I may carry out Your holy and true command.
-St. Francis of Assisi

“St. Francis in Ecstasy” by Giovanni Bellini

We prepare and support lay Catholics for two-year international, one-year domestic and 1-2 week short-term mission service opportunities in solidarity with impoverished and marginalized communities across the globe.

The blog is maintained by the communications staff.